February 12th

Based after “December 9th” by Eileen Myles

 

I share the same
birth
day as Charles
Darwin.

It’s a fact.

In fact
we even share
the same tendency
to look at life
in cycles-
adapting evolving
from monkey
to man
to memory.

What will become of us
next? What
will be deemed
scientifically correct
we wonder.
We are
one,
yet…

When death is close
at hand and
I find
a text
to hold, will I
appear between the pages
where
my good old friend
from distant ages
now resides?
I wonder and
there lies
the difference
between us two:

Darwin subsists
immortal,
a friend since
youth, though
I will always be
an entity
he never knew
who
survival
was not fit for.

 

-Ashley McDermott

Leave a Reply

